All posts by Shannon Bowring

Shannon Bowring

About Shannon Bowring

I am 26 years old. I was raised up in the County, in the tiny town of Ashland. I attended the University of Maine in Orono and graduated in 2012 with a BA in English, with a concentration in Creative Writing. Reading and writing have always been the greatest loves of my life. I am most at home in the dusty corners of used bookstores, surrounded by forgotten books. One day, inspiration struck when I decided I wanted to combine all my loves – writing, reading, traveling, exploring these beloved shops – to create an outlet in which I can share my bookish adventures with an audience of like-minded readers who could appreciate my love of words and stories.

Final blog post – saying goodbye to begin a new chapter

DSCN0978

Well, readers, by now you’ve probably begun to wonder if I’ve dropped off the face of the earth. I have not been posting or updating the blog’s Facebook page in several weeks now. Have no fear, it’s all been for a good reason. Let me tell you a story. A little over two years ago, […]

Curtis Memorial Library hosts Fireside Writers writing group

burning-1834729_1280

There are a few things every serious writer needs. A good pen. Working knowledge of proper grammar. Vodka. And, to borrow a phrase: a room of one’s own. Many writers do not earn enough from their work to secure that ideal writing room. So when a free room is offered to a writer, even if […]

10 Maine bookstores you should visit in 2017

Hello (1)

And here I present to you, dear reader, a perennial list of Maine bookstores you should check out in 2017. Each of these shops has its own literary kind of vibe, and all of them are great places to immerse yourself in the pages of a good book. What more could a bibliophile want? Lippincott […]

2017 Reading Challenge: A word nerd’s resolutions for a new year

new-years-eve-1905144_1280

“What are your resolutions for the New Year?” I’ve always been of the “strive-to-be-better-every-day-rather-than-one-magical-day-a-year” school of thought; but hey, I’m a writer. I get the sentimentality of the thing, the inherent wish that a new year can magically bring about great change, ushering in a new chapter of our story. So to answer the question, […]

The Bed Moved: Stories, by Rebecca Schiff

6666651053846152998

The Bed Moved: Stories, by Rebecca Schiff, published by Alfred A. Knopf, 2016. If you’re looking for a collection of short fiction that is sharp, honest, funny, and a bit strange, look no further than The Bed Moved: Stories, by Rebecca Schiff. The stories in this small volume of fiction are short, to-the-point, and full […]

The Last One, by Alexandra Oliva

41BayEZWG8L

The Last One, by Alexandra Oliva, published by Ballantine Books, 2016. Fans of The Hunger Games, McCarthy’s The Road, and King’s The Stand will find elements of those stories contained and entwined within Oliva’s debut novel. Contestants sign on for a reality show like none other ever produced – a unique game wherein the only […]