Curtis Memorial Library hosts Fireside Writers writing group

burning-1834729_1280

There are a few things every serious writer needs. A good pen. Working knowledge of proper grammar. Vodka. And, to borrow a phrase: a room of one’s own. Many writers do not earn enough from their work to secure that ideal writing room. So when a free room is offered to a writer, even if […]

10 Maine bookstores you should visit in 2017

Hello (1)

And here I present to you, dear reader, a perennial list of Maine bookstores you should check out in 2017. Each of these shops has its own literary kind of vibe, and all of them are great places to immerse yourself in the pages of a good book. What more could a bibliophile want? Lippincott […]

2017 Reading Challenge: A word nerd’s resolutions for a new year

new-years-eve-1905144_1280

“What are your resolutions for the New Year?” I’ve always been of the “strive-to-be-better-every-day-rather-than-one-magical-day-a-year” school of thought; but hey, I’m a writer. I get the sentimentality of the thing, the inherent wish that a new year can magically bring about great change, ushering in a new chapter of our story. So to answer the question, […]

The Bed Moved: Stories, by Rebecca Schiff

6666651053846152998

The Bed Moved: Stories, by Rebecca Schiff, published by Alfred A. Knopf, 2016. If you’re looking for a collection of short fiction that is sharp, honest, funny, and a bit strange, look no further than The Bed Moved: Stories, by Rebecca Schiff. The stories in this small volume of fiction are short, to-the-point, and full […]

The Last One, by Alexandra Oliva

41BayEZWG8L

The Last One, by Alexandra Oliva, published by Ballantine Books, 2016. Fans of The Hunger Games, McCarthy’s The Road, and King’s The Stand will find elements of those stories contained and entwined within Oliva’s debut novel. Contestants sign on for a reality show like none other ever produced – a unique game wherein the only […]

American Heart Association to host 2nd annual Little Heart Hero Day, Oct. 16th in Lewiston

medium

When I was born in 1990 with two congenital heart defects (Transposition of the Great Arteries, as well as a ventricular septal defect), it wasn’t clear whether I would survive long enough to be writing this today. Though VSD was a common enough occurrence, TGA was a relatively unknown condition at the time, affecting only […]

The importance of independent bookstores

14263985_10207315817429840_5775934270915426120_n

In a recent interview with PBS, Ann Patchett, bestselling author of books like Bel Canto, State of Wonder and the just-released novel Commonwealth, discussed her involvement with Parnassus Books, an independent bookstore in Nashville. (The entire interview is great, but skip ahead to about 5:18 to hear specifically about the store.) When asked why independent bookstores […]