Tag Archives: Stephen King

The Last One, by Alexandra Oliva

The Last One, by Alexandra Oliva, published by Ballantine Books, 2016. Fans of The Hunger Games, McCarthy’s The Road, and King’s The Stand will find elements of those stories contained and entwined within Oliva’s debut novel. Contestants sign on for a reality show like none other ever produced – a unique game wherein the only […]

The right one at the right time: the beauty of bookish fate

Certain books come to you only when they are meant to, when you are ready to receive whichever message they carry within their pages. However these books appear, they show up at a time when you need them most. That’s one of the most magical things about books. It’s as if they possess intuitive powers, […]

Beaches, boardwalks, and bargain books

This shop first struck my eye with its huge yellow banner proclaiming BETTER BARGAIN BOOKS. In my experience, there has never been a more effective marketing ploy to get me in the door of a merchandising establishment.

Celebrating National Library Week: How three libraries transformed one reader

Happy National Library Week, readers! In my opinion, every week should be spent celebrating the role of libraries in our culture and society. Libraries bring people together in ways no other establishment ever could – not only through books and literacy, but through technology, community outreach programs, educational opportunities, historical/genealogical research… Essentially, a trip to […]

The Way Life Should Be: 10 Maine reasons to be happy

The old adage is true: the best things in life are free. And the best things in life are usually the simplest things. There are a lot of those simple things to be found right here in our great state. Springtime in Maine – otherwise known as mud season – offers up several conflicting examples […]

The agony (and the ecstasy) of literary rejection

Ask any writer what the worst part of writing is, and you will get two answers: 1.) The dreaded writer’s block, and 2.) Getting rejected by publishers after spending weeks, months, even years on a manuscript. Granted, the rejection part comes after the actual writing, but it is an intrinsic, necessary part of the process, […]

Books and weekend adventures in Rockland

For our latest bookish adventure, we took the advice of one of Twice Sold Tales’ readers and went up to Rockland. This reader had gotten in touch with me after I posted my piece about the train leaving us there one autumn day. He suggested a few bookshops, stores, and restaurants where we should go […]

Changing the meaning of Valentine’s Day

I’m not a fan of Valentine’s Day. Sure, I’ll take the chocolates in the heart-shaped box, maybe even a card, but other than that, the holiday has never mattered much to me. I’ve celebrated it in various ways (dinner out, dinner in, exchange of gifts, heart-to-heart proclamations of love, an abundance of donuts) with boyfriends, […]