Category Archives: Book Reviews

The Bed Moved: Stories, by Rebecca Schiff

The Bed Moved: Stories, by Rebecca Schiff, published by Alfred A. Knopf, 2016. If you’re looking for a collection of short fiction that is sharp, honest, funny, and a bit strange, look no further than The Bed Moved: Stories, by Rebecca Schiff. The stories in this small volume of fiction are short, to-the-point, and full […]

The Last One, by Alexandra Oliva

The Last One, by Alexandra Oliva, published by Ballantine Books, 2016. Fans of The Hunger Games, McCarthy’s The Road, and King’s The Stand will find elements of those stories contained and entwined within Oliva’s debut novel. Contestants sign on for a reality show like none other ever produced – a unique game wherein the only […]

Small Great Things, by Jodi Picoult

Small Great Things, by Jodi Picoult, published by Random House Publishing Group – Ballantine Books, publication date Oct. 11, 2016 *Disclaimer: I received a free, digital copy of this book in exchange for my honest review* Known for her unwavering insights into controversial topics such as the death penalty, gay rights, mercy killing, and stem-cell […]

Unlocking Worlds: A Reading Companion for Book Lovers, by Sally Allen

Unlocking Worlds: A Reading Companion for Book Lovers, by Sally Allen  *Disclaimer: I received a free, digital copy of this book in exchange for my honest review*  If you’re like me, you’re a sucker for books about books. Any volume that will serve to point me in the direction of more good reads is one […]

Becoming Nicole: The Transformation of an American Family, by Amy Ellis Nutt

‘Becoming Nicole: The Transformation of an American Family’ is a great book to read right now, at a time when our country is under a constant barrage of negativity, prejudice, and intolerance.